System.Convert.ToICRole(_me)

Starting Monday, I’ll be officially transitioning from a test lead to an individual contributor (IC) on my team.   I love being a lead.  I enjoy the scope, driving issues, mentoring, and I’m one of the few that actually gives a shit about people’s careers.  But recently, I’ve felt myself getting further away from the technology and further away from the things I love about being a lead.  So it was clear to me that I need to take a break.  And for reasons that will be made more clear in a future post, I’m at a point where I need to “do” and not just “delegate.”  It’s a little scary, given that I haven’t been an IC for nearly 10 years.  But my team is really supportive and they’re folks I can count on to have patience with my dumbass n00b questions.

A typical 1:1 (atypical 1:1?)

A typical 1:1 (atypical 1:1?)

Part of this IC transition means that I need to move out of my office and into a cubical.  There’s obviously pros and cons to cube life (mostly cons from what I hear), but meh.  I now need to figure out how to get all of my stuff from my office into the tiny cube – the proverbial “fit 10lbs of crap into a 5lb bag.”  Although the balloons are mostly gone (there’s still a couple balloon carcasses near my subwoofer) there’s plenty of other junk that will need a new home.  Besides the physical move, this also means getting used to “cube life.”

I’ve been told that I’ve missed a lot being in an office.  I get the impression that people feel that I’ll be sort of an inside man now, not in a Denzel sort of way.  For example, already I’ve been involved in a couple of conversations with folks not understanding/agreeing how things like annual reviews work, what “visibility” means, and the requisite meaty gossip.  It’s going to be a little tricky setting _me.Opacity – that is, balancing when to bite my tongue and how transparent I should be. 

This is going to be an interesting ride.

This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

